Great Barrier Reef

The Great Barrier Reef is located off the coast of Queensland, Australia. It is the world’s largest single formation created by any living creature. The Great Barrier Reef is the only natural wonder of the world which may be seen from outer space.

It stretches over 1,600 miles (2,600 km) and covers over 133,000 square miles (344,000 sq km).  It is protected by the Great Barrier Reef National Park.

The Great Barrier Reef actually incorporates 2,900 separate different reefs and 900 islands and collectively is home to many vulnerable or endangered species of which some are endemic to the Great Barrier Reef. There are over 400 different coral species along with 1,500 species of fish. In addition to these reef expectations, the Great Barrier Reef is home to 2,195 species of plants, 215 different birds, 17 species of sea snakes, 7 different frogs, 6 species of turtles and 30 species of whales.

The Great Barrier Reef is one of the most eclectic and comprehensive ecosystems in the world.